Handspun Done: Dry Fast!

For my May Woolalong project, I decided to spin up this top (Spunky Club for Feb. ’12, 8 ounces Corriedale, “Abstract”) to make some Stepping Stones socks:

Now, most of the time, I don’t spin with a particular project in mind. Usually, I just decide “thin” or “thick” or “woollen” and set up the wheel how I think it should be, and go go go. And if I end up with what I expected, great. And if I don’t, well, that’s fine too.

But this time, I knew I wanted to make those socks. The pattern calls for something DK-ish, not fingering weight, and the resulting socks (yep, I’ve made a pair already, from commercial yarn though) are squishy as all get out.

So, sampling would have been smart.

But I didn’t do that.

Instead, I stuck my fastest whorl on and counted on the floofing factor of Corriedale to take care of getting my yarn to the right thickness.

Daring, I know.

I also did this as a fractal three-ply. So I divided the top into three pieces of equal weight. I split the first piece down the middle into two. I split the second piece into three, and the third was split into four pieces.

You can see how that worked out pretty well on this bobbin shot, which includes five of the six bobbins:

The split-two-way bit is there on the two right-hand bobbins, followed by two bobbins of split-three-way, and a single bobbin of split-four-ways.

Ply, ply, ply, ply, ply…

Perfection. I ended up with nearly 500 yards of definitely DK weight yarn.

The Corriedale behaved like Corriedale. It floofed up a bit on finishing. It spun like a dream. And it has that certain something that Corriedale always has–not a lustre, like with Wensleydale, but something more subtle. It has an inner glow. And this colorway…what can I say? It’s subtle and lovely.

Now it just needs to dry faster so I can start those socks!

Happy Spinning, Friends!

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.
This entry was posted in Breeds and Fibers, Club!, Corriedale, Handspun Done, Knitters Book of Socks, Spinning, Spunky Eclectic, Woolalong. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

