January: Lost & Found

So, remember back in December when I sort of casually mentioned that I had found my motivation again? Well, it didn’t go away. Even through the holidays, it didn’t go away.

I’m not sure what happens, but it’s like there’s a mental switch that you have no control over. It just flips on and off. And right now, my switch is on. This means I’ve been (mostly) eating a lot healthier (yay!) and actually trying to get more movement into my days (another yay!).

I have a goal, but I’m not going to tell you what it is. Because I’ve found that when I talk “out loud” about my goals, I stop start ignoring them. Something about sharing my goal with others brings out the bratty, stubborn teen in me. And that sucks. But I do have a goal, and since I have a goal of losing some extra squishy-ness, both in terms of pounds on my body and miles of yarn/pounds of fiber, it seemed like a monthly check-in might be in order.

Bonus! Just to keep it from being dull dull dull, and also in the interest of full disclosure, I’m also going to tell you what I gained, particularly in terms of yarn and fiber. But that’s going to go back an extra month, because I don’t want to spoil anyone’s surprises in the various clubs that I belong to.

So, that was a long-winded way of saying, welcome to What Was Lost/Found in January (withpics of all the new yarn and fiber that arrived in December).

First of all, I very nearly hit my goal, weight-wise in January. I was only off by 0.6 pounds, which is pretty dang close. (This is never an exact science, anyway.) All told, I lost 4 pounds in the month of January, bringing my grand total to negative 7.4 pounds. Woo-hoo!

In case you’re wondering, 7.4 pounds is not enough for me to go down a size, but it is enough for my pants to be slightly loose instead of slightly tight, and for the husbandperson to remark on it cheerily. (He knows of my goal, and is a great cheerleader. Also, he’s pretty darn cute.)

Now, in terms of fiber…uh-oh. I added more than two pounds–two and a quarter pounds, to be exact–of fiber to my woolly spinning stash. (Whoopsy!)

But! When it comes to yarn, I actually managed, for the first time since I learned to knit (extra exclamation points here!!!!), to reduce my yardage. I lost 532 yards of commercial yarn, and 1,120 yards of handspun–just about 0.94 miles of yarn. I really have weaving to thank for this. It burns up the yardage quickly.

Now for the yarn and fiber pr0n.

Here’s who came to live with the stash over the course of the month of December. Let’s start with the yarn:

That’s 750 yards of Indigodragonfly DK Polwarth-Silk in the colorway “Young Helpless Damsels in Damp Climates.” It’s a club shipment, and the pattern that came with it was for a shawl, but I’m not quite sure that’s what I want to do with it. At any rate, the color is lovely, and I love the feel of the pol-silk. A really lovely yarn.

After I started on my mom’s Longhorned Beetle scarf in Bugga, I could not stop thinking about getting enough of it to knit a sweater. But then I found out that Sanguine Gryphon was closing up shop, so I figured it would never happen. That’s why, when I happened to land there one day and discovered there was a re-stocking of this colorway, I couldn’t help myself. It’s 5 skeins, enough for a nice cardigan. Oh, and I guess some Eidos landed in my cart as well. That’s the colorway “Bacchic,” and I think it’s destined to be the next pair of socks in the Knitter’s Book of Socks-along.

Another club shipment. This is the Plucky Classics, and it’s 385 yards of Primo MCN in the colorway “Shades of Pemberly.” Mmmmm. Not sure what I’ll do with it yet. But I like collecting The Plucky Knitter yarns.

Now for the fiber…

Everything is Club this time around:

This is all Southern Cross Fibre. On top you have 8 ounces of the December Fibre Club shipment: Bluefaced Leicester-Silk in “Oceanic.” In the middle is the December Batt Club shipment, about 4 ounces of Merino, Bombyx Silk and Cashmere in “Teeming.” And lastly, I snagged some extra batts from November club. Just 4 ounces pictured, but all told I managed to get my woolly little hands on more than a pound of these Corriedale-Flax-Silk tweedy batts in “Kombu Tweed.”

And finally, there’s this:

This is the 8 ounces of South African Fine, which was the December Spunky Club shipment. Colorway is “Peace on Earth,” and it’s already almost spun up as part of the SCF & Friends Sweater Spinalong.

So…fiber and yarn in, fiber and yarn out. Obviously, I need to step up my game a bit in the spinning department over the next month if I don’t want to drown in wool.

I know, I know…

Good luck with that, right?

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.
This entry was posted in Body Love, Lost & Found, New Fiber!, New Yarnlove!, Stashdown. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

