Spun! Preserved Yaks

Mmmmmmm. Yak jam. Yak butter. Yak preserves.

Say what?

DSC_0003_medium2

I started with 6 ounces of Merino-Yak, the Spunky Club fiber from August of this year in the colorway Preserved.

Default spin!

DSC_0078_medium2

Sometimes I love spinning with a plan in mind. But most of the time, I really like to just settle into all my default motions and let the fiber spin itself.

DSC_0083_medium2

This was one of those spins. Merino-yak is not the easiest in the world to spin. If you’ve spun Merino-silk and thought it was A-OK, you’ll most likely be okay with this as well. If you have troubles with the slipperier, shorter-stapled fibers, this is likely to give you trouble too. To get it right, increase your twist speed by going to a smaller whorl. Shorter fibers need more twist, right? And be prepared for plenty of pilling. I think it’s pretty much unavoidable here.

But is it worth it?

DSC_0081_medium2

Oh yeah. It’s worth it. The stuff is uber-soft. Nothing like it. This ended up as 323 yards of DK weight 2-ply. No idea what to do with it yet, other than pet it. A cowl seems likely.

Mmmmmmmm, Yak!

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.
This entry was posted in Breeds and Fibers, Club!, Handspun Done, Merino, Spinning, Spunky Eclectic, Yak. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spun! Preserved Yaks

  1. Gorgeous yarn and a great way to describe the characteristics of spinning with it. I haven’t had the chance yet, but I do feel like I might be better prepared should I get the chance, thank you!

  2. Hey, it’s been a minute!

    YUM!! It sounds so divine. I haven’t spun yak yet…I don’t think…let alone a merino-yak blend. But, I’ll be back to try out your suggestion when I do. I don’t mind pilling when I make something for myself.

Leave a Reply

