Bright Stripe Scarf

This was not the most exciting project in the world, but as it turns out, it…er…turned out quite nicely.

For my warp, I used some KnitPicks Palette in Asphalt Heather that was hanging around making trouble in the stash. I randomly added a few threads of the leftover merlot color from my February Spunky Weaving Kit. And at the end, I made a bright stripe of leftovers from my Darjeeling socks. (That would be Alchemy Juniper in Inferno.)

I’m not sure what made me throw the bright stripe in there, and I can tell you that I worried about it the whole time I was weaving this. Was it too bright? Was this yarn too different from the others in the warp? Would it make the whole thing look…just…wrong?

My weft yarn here was some handspun Cormo-Alpaca-Silk in a sort of mottled fuschia. Despite the fact that it’s Cormo…and alpaca…and silk…it’s not terribly soft or comfortable yarn. In fact, it’s downright itchy. And if you know me, you know that I can endure a lot of itch in my woollens. This one pushes the limits for me. My best guess is that there were a lot of guard hairs from the alpaca in the mix.

In the end, once it was finished and had its spa and steam treatment, it softened up a bit. But not so much that I’d want it against my bare neck.

But I do love the way that stripe works out when it’s all wrapped up around me. And I love the tweediness of that handspun.┬áMaybe it’s meant for the depths of winter when you need an extra wrap around the outside of your clothes. Because between the wool, the silk and the alpaca, it’s got to be warm.

Not that I even want to think the word “warm” here right now. On Saturday, we hit 97 degrees, which has got to be some kind of record. And today, we’re actually under a “Fire Weather Warning”…which I’ve never even heard of before. I would assume it’s a more common thing in the Southwest or in California, but it bodes ill for the Midwest that it’s already this dry at the end of May…

I don’t even want to think about July and August right now.

So maybe I’ll think of January, after all, and how nice it will feel to be cold enough to want to wrap myself in wool, silk and alpaca.

Happy Weaving, Friends!

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.
This entry was posted in Alpaca, Cormo, Silk, Stashdown, Weaving, Weaving with Handspun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bright Stripe Scarf

  1. Stacey says:

    That is LOVELY!!! And the stripe really sets it off nicely. I think it was a very good choice.

    I have to tell you, weaving scares me a little…but I’ve seen a lot of handwovens lately that I have found to be simply stunning with all of the color involved. I have to have my color. :)

    • Emily says:

      Thank you Stacey! Weaving is a blast! It’s super-quick (compared with knitting) and a great way to experiment with color. And texture.

  2. DebbieB says:

    I’m a huge fan of warp stripes. And random color. And weaving. Yay scarf!

Leave a Reply

