Oh Rats, er…Rat!*

Today I have a quick little knit for you.

Uh…for those of you with a sense of humor, anyway…

This is the Squashed Rat Knitted Bookmark, and I think it’s one of the funniest things ever.

I made this in Dale of Norway Baby Ull, a very nice soft yarn. I modified the pattern to knit the head in the round, instead of knitting two pieces flat and seaming. I hate seaming, and it was such a simple change to make.

I envision it holding someone’s place in a book like The Rats of NIMH. (Anyone remember that one?)

It is currently winging its way toward Tennessee. You see, my sister has a similar sense of humor, and probably even more love of toys and wee critters than I do. And today is her birthday.

So, to make amends for all the times that I snuck into her room to listen to her LPs while she was away…

I made this for her.

(Happily, there’s plenty of yarn left, so I can also make one for me. Also…I think I might have to go to the library. I have a feeling that The Rats of NIMH might be a good read for grownups, too.)

*No actual rats were harmed in the making of this wee knitted item.

About Emily

I may or may not have: A. Dirt B. Ink C. Paint D. Wool under my fingernails.
This entry was posted in Fin!, Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oh Rats, er…Rat!*

  1. JoVE says:

    Cute. And I can confirm that the book is a good read for grownups. One of the benefits of homeschooling is the read alouds. F & I read it together a couple of years ago. Great story.

  2. Caitlin says:

    LOL! IM SO MAKING ONE!!!

    I hope my dog doesn’t steal it too…

  3. Pingback: May…A Resolution Update « R1-K1-Spin

Leave a Reply

